Always-on AI pentesting for your web apps and APIsAlways-on AI pentestingStart an AI pentest
Penetration testing · Buyer's guide

Best AI Pentesting Tools in 2026

Short answer: It depends on what you need tested. For web apps and APIs, XBOW, RunSybil, Escape, Aikido, Equixly and Novee say they confirm findings by exploiting them, and Barrion (our product) checks every finding against the live app before it reaches the report. For internal networks and Active Directory, look at Horizon3.ai NodeZero and Pentera. Terra, Cobalt and Synack add human pentesters. Strix and Shannon are the best-known open-source frameworks. Checked 2026-09-26.

"AI pentesting" now covers very different products: agents that test your web app, platforms that go after your internal network, human pentest firms with AI in the loop, and open-source frameworks you run yourself. This page puts them side by side on the same questions. It's written by a vendor, so every claim about another tool links to that tool's own site or to press coverage, checked on 2026-09-26.

Barrion is our product. We've held it to the same criteria as every other tool.

This is the broad list. If what you need is a tool that retests your app on a schedule, best continuous pentesting tools goes deeper on that one question. If you're weighing up XBOW specifically, see XBOW alternatives.

What makes an AI pentesting tool worth using?

The same eight questions we use for continuous pentesting tools, plus one about where it runs.

  1. Proof per finding. Does the tool exploit the issue against the live target and show you the request and response? An AI that reports guesses gives you more to triage, not less.
  2. Regression tracking across runs. Can you see what's new, what's fixed and what came back since the last run?
  3. Scope, including authenticated roles. Which surfaces does it test (web app, API, network, Active Directory), and can it log in as more than one user? Access-control bugs only show up with two accounts.
  4. Self-serve start. Can you run a first test yourself, or is a demo call the only way in?
  5. Human review. Does a person check the findings, and will someone sign the report your auditor sees?
  6. Retest after fixes. Can you rerun a finding once it's fixed, and does it cost extra?
  7. States what it doesn't test. Out-of-scope lists save you from assuming coverage you don't have.
  8. Triggers. On a schedule, on each deploy, from a pipeline or only on demand.
  9. Where it runs. SaaS in which region, on-prem, or open source on your own machine. This matters for data residency and for internal network testing.

Pricing isn't a criterion because most vendors here don't publish it. Where a price is public, it's in the tool's section.

How do the AI pentesting tools compare?

Ten tools test web apps and APIs. Network tools and open-source frameworks have their own tables further down.

Web app and API tools. Competitor cells come from each vendor's own site, checked 2026-09-26. Scroll sideways on small screens.
ToolProof per findingRegression trackingScope and auth rolesSelf-serve startHuman reviewRetest after fixesStates what it doesn't testTriggersWhere it runsWhat it doesn't do
BarrionYes. Every finding is checked against the live app. Confirmed ones carry the request and response. Anything unconfirmed is clearly marked and capped in severityYes. Each scheduled run labels findings new, still open, resolved or regressedWeb apps and APIs, with several test users in named roles. All 97 OWASP WSTG v4.2 casesYes, for single pentests. Continuous programs through salesSecurity engineer review from Standard up. Signed-off reports on deeper testsYes, freeYes, on the facts pageSchedule, CI/CD pipeline via the Barrion API, or on demandSaaS. Data stored and hosted in Sweden, AI processing in the EUNo internal network, AD, mobile, physical or social engineering testing
XBOWYes, per vendor. Independent validators confirm each exploit. Unproven issues are listed as informationalRetest assessments. Run-to-run labels not statedWeb apps and their APIs, with credentials and API specs you supplyNo, quote or demo. Also on cloud marketplacesReview before findings surface is mentioned. Who reviews isn't statedYes, as a separate retest assessment. Price not statedYes. Web apps and APIs only for now, and not every endpoint in one assessmentEvery time your apps change, or on demandSaaS. US by default, EU and Singapore regions in private preview (Enterprise)No public price. Other asset types are on its roadmap
RunSybilYes, per vendor. Nothing surfaces until it's reproduced independentlyNot statedWeb and API attack surface, authenticated (SSO, TOTP, magic links and more) and unauthenticated. Source code optionalNo, demoNo. Positioned as a system of AI agentsYes. Retests finish in under an hour, per vendorNot statedPull requests, a schedule, or on demandNot statedNo public price. No human review stated
EscapeYes, per vendor. Reports show the reasoning trace and the working exploitYes. Proven findings become regression tests on every buildWeb apps and APIs including GraphQL, several users at once, OAuth, SSO, multi-tenantNo, demoNot statedYes, as regression tests on every build. Price not statedNot statedEvery release cycle and every push through CI/CDSaaS. Region not statedNo public price or self-serve start
AikidoYes, per vendor. Separate agents re-exploit each finding before it's reportedRetest per fix. Run-to-run labels not statedApps, frontends and APIs (REST, GraphQL, gRPC, SOAP)Yes. Free suite plan with no cardYou approve escalations and merge fix PRs. No reviewer statedYes. Infinite retests the fix it proposesSays human testers remain valuable for non-web targetsOn demand, or per deploy with Aikido Infinite (scoped to the diff)SaaS, with EU, US, Australia and Middle East regionsPer-deploy runs target the diff, not the whole app
EquixlyYes, per vendor. Findings grounded in demonstrated exploitabilityNot statedAPI-first, also applications. Black-box and grey-boxYes for a single €4,999 test. The continuous platform is by quoteNot statedNot statedNot statedContinuous, inside your CI/CD pipeline (platform plan)Not statedThe single test isn't continuous. Continuous is on the quoted platform plan
NoveeYes, per vendor. Every issue confirmed with steps to replicateNot statedWeb apps, mobile apps, APIs, AI apps and agents, external attack surfaceNo, demoReviewable test plans before executionYes, retesting with new deployments and code changesNot statedContinuous, on new deployments and code changesSaaS, a bastion node or on-premNo public price
Terra SecurityVerified for real exploitability, signed off by certified pentestersNot statedWeb apps, external and internal networks (including AD), AI red teamingNo, demoYes. Pentesters approve intrusive actions and sign off findingsNot statedNot statedContinuousNot statedNo public price or self-serve start
CobaltHuman pentesters confirm findings. Autonomous Pentest: proof of exploitNot statedWeb, API, networks, cloud, AI and LLM appsNo, quoteYes. Cobalt Core, 500+ vetted pentestersFree, unlimited during the contract termNot statedEngagements from an annual credit package. Autonomous Pentest per testSaaS platform. Region not statedSales-led. Credits don't roll over
Synack (Sara)The Synack Red Team confirms exploitability of Sara's findingsNot statedSara: external web and host assets. Human plans add API and mobileNo, sales-ledYes. Synack Red Team, 1,500+ researchersNot stated for SaraYes. Sara tests external assets only, and MFA and OTP aren't supported yetPoint in time or continuous (Synack14/365)SaaS. Region not statedSara can't test internal assets yet. From $4,181 per Sara pentest

"Not stated" means we couldn't find it on the vendor's site on 2026-09-26. It doesn't mean the tool can't do it. If you're a vendor and a cell is wrong, email contact@barrion.io with a link and we'll fix it.

The tools, one by one

1. Barrion

Barrion's AI agents run pentests of web apps and APIs, the way an attacker would, across 8 testing areas and all 97 OWASP WSTG v4.2 test cases. They log in as several users in named roles, so access-control bugs between accounts show up.

Every finding is checked against your live app before it's reported. Confirmed findings come with the request and response that prove them. Anything we couldn't confirm is clearly marked and capped in severity. From Standard level up, a security engineer reviews the findings, and deeper tests come with a report signed off by that engineer. Retests of found issues are free.

You can run pentests on a schedule or on demand, or from your CI/CD pipeline via the Barrion API, and each run labels findings new, still open, resolved or regressed. Data is stored and hosted in Sweden, with AI processing in the EU.

Where others are stronger: we test web apps and APIs only. No internal network, Active Directory, mobile, physical or social engineering testing. Expert review is a check of the findings, not a human tester doing the work. For that, look at Terra, Cobalt or Synack.

Single pentests are self-serve. Essential starts at €199/month, and per-run prices are on the pricing page. Business, with scheduled pentests, goes through sales. Compare us head to head with XBOW, Escape, Aikido, Terra, Cobalt and Pentera.

2. XBOW

XBOW is one of the best-known names in autonomous pentesting. In June 2025 it became the first autonomous system to reach #1 on HackerOne's US leaderboard, and in March 2026 it raised $120M at a valuation above $1B (SecurityWeek). Its agents test web apps and their APIs, and independent validators confirm each exploit. Issues it can't exploit are listed separately as informational.

Stronger than Barrion at: scale, from one app to thousands, and a public track record against human hackers. It's sold on the AWS, Google Cloud, Oracle and Microsoft marketplaces on usage-based pricing.

Watch for: no public price and no self-serve start. The default region is the US, with EU and Singapore regions in private preview for Enterprise. Its docs say it may not test every endpoint in one assessment. Barrion vs XBOW.

3. RunSybil

RunSybil was founded by OpenAI's first security hire and raised a $40M Series A led by Khosla Ventures in March 2026 (Fortune). It tests your web and API attack surface as a system of AI agents, authenticated or not, and says nothing is reported until it's reproduced independently. Runs start from pull requests, a schedule or on demand.

Stronger than Barrion at: login support. It handles SSO, TOTP, magic links and email OTP out of the box. Retests finish in under an hour, per the vendor.

Watch for: no public price, no self-serve start and no human review stated.

4. Escape

Escape combines a multi-agent AI pentesting engine with business-logic DAST and attack surface management. It tests as several users at once, handles OAuth, SSO and multi-tenant apps, and turns proven findings into regression tests on every build.

Stronger than Barrion at: GraphQL, attack surface discovery, and security gates on every push. Barrion vs Escape.

Watch for: no public pricing and no self-serve start.

5. Aikido

Aikido's AI pentest is one part of a developer security suite that also does dependency, code, secrets, cloud and container scanning. Separate agents re-exploit each finding before it's reported. Aikido Infinite runs a pentest scoped to the diff whenever new code lands, then proposes a fix PR and retests it.

Stronger than Barrion at: one vendor for the whole pipeline, fix PRs, and more API protocols (REST, GraphQL, gRPC, SOAP). The suite has a free plan, and Aikido offers EU, US, Australian and Middle East regions.

Watch for: a diff-scoped run doesn't retest the rest of the app. Public prices on 2026-09-26: $4,000 for a standard pentest per app and $10 per agent on Infinite. Barrion vs Aikido.

6. Equixly

Equixly, from Florence, Italy, is built around APIs. Its agents look for business-logic flaws across chained API calls, and findings are grounded in demonstrated exploitability.

Stronger than Barrion at: depth on API-heavy products with many services.

Watch for: the €4,999 public price buys a single test with the report in two business days. Continuous testing is on the platform plan, by quote.

7. Novee

Novee came out of stealth in January 2026 with a $51.5M round. It tests web apps, mobile apps, APIs, AI apps and agents, and shows you a reviewable test plan before it runs. Every issue comes with steps to replicate.

Stronger than Barrion at: mobile app testing, and deployment choice: SaaS, a bastion node or on-prem.

Watch for: no public price and no self-serve start.

8. Terra Security

Terra pairs swarms of AI agents with certified human pentesters, who approve intrusive actions and sign off findings. Since May 2026 it tests internal and external networks, including Active Directory, as well as web apps and AI systems.

Stronger than Barrion at: human pentesters in the loop, and network coverage. Barrion vs Terra.

Watch for: no public pricing and no self-serve start.

9. Cobalt

Cobalt is a PTaaS platform with 500+ vetted pentesters (Cobalt Core) across web, API, network, cloud and AI targets. Its Autonomous Pentest, launched in July 2026, delivers AI-run findings with proof of exploit in 24 hours, with Core pentesters reviewing the plan and managing scope. It's offered at $3,500 per test until the end of 2026.

Stronger than Barrion at: human testers and breadth of asset types. Retesting is unlimited during the contract. Barrion vs Cobalt.

Watch for: annual credit packages by quote, and credits don't roll over.

10. Synack

Synack's AI agent, Sara, went generally available in May 2026. The Synack Red Team (1,500+ researchers) confirms exploitability of what Sara finds. A Sara pentest starts at $4,181, and human-led plans at $10,283.

Stronger than Barrion at: a large human researcher network, host testing, and mobile on its human-led plans.

Watch for: Synack says Sara can only test external web and host assets for now, and doesn't support MFA or OTP yet.

Network, Active Directory and cloud identity

These tools answer a different question: what can an attacker do once they're on your network? Of the tools above, only Terra's platform and Cobalt's human pentesters cover it. Ours doesn't.

ToolWhat it testsHow it proves impactWhere it runsSelf-serve startStronger than Barrion atWhat it doesn't do
Horizon3.ai NodeZeroInternal and external networks, AD password audits, cloud, Kubernetes, web appsProof of exploit and diagrammed attack pathsDocker host or OVA inside your network, SaaS for external testsYes, you can try it freeInternal network, AD and chained attack pathsNo public price. Multi-role web app and API testing not described
PenteraInternal network (Core), external attack surface (Surface), cloud identity and hybrid (Cloud), ADReal attack techniques with controlled execution and audit proofAgentlessNo, demoInternal network, AD and cloud identity at enterprise scaleNo public price. Centres on network, not web app logic

See Barrion vs Pentera for how the two layers fit together.

Open-source AI pentesting frameworks

These are frameworks you run yourself, not managed services. You bring the LLM key, the machine and the judgement. They're good for learning, for research and for testing your own code before release. They don't come with scheduling, human review or a report an auditor will accept.

FrameworkLicenseWhat it targetsProofHow you run itWatch for
StrixApache-2.0Web apps, APIs, local codebases and GitHub reposSays each finding includes a working proof-of-concept exploit and reproduction stepsCLI in Docker, with your own LLM key (OpenAI, Anthropic, OpenRouter and others, or a local model)A paid cloud version (Strix Cloud) adds hosting. Internal network testing is on its Enterprise plan
ShannonAGPL-3.0, with a commercial license offeredWeb apps and APIs, white-box: it reads your source codeReports only what it could exploit ("No exploit, no report")npx with Docker and Node 18+, your own LLM key or a local modelNeeds the source code. Its README says not to run it against production, because its agents can change state
PentestGPTMITCTF challenges and pentests of an IP or URLNo proof-of-concept gate statedCLI or Docker, driven by Claude Code or Codex, with a legacy mode for other LLM providersYou drive it yourself. Scheduling, run-to-run tracking and report sign-off aren't stated in the README

Every one of these projects says to test only systems you own or have written permission to test. Take that seriously: their agents send real exploit traffic.

How to choose

You're a SaaS team and your risk is your own web app and APIs. Start with a tool that proves findings and tests as several users: Barrion, XBOW, RunSybil, Escape or Aikido. If you want to start today without a sales call, Barrion and Aikido let you.

You have many apps, or an enterprise portfolio. XBOW is built for that scale. Escape adds attack surface discovery.

Your product is mostly APIs. Equixly first, then Escape if you use GraphQL.

You need internal network or Active Directory coverage. NodeZero or Pentera, next to a web app tool. Terra covers both with humans in the loop.

You need human pentesters and audit-ready reports. Cobalt, Synack or Terra. Barrion's deeper tests come with a report signed off by a security engineer, which you can offer your auditor. Whether it counts is their call.

You want to experiment for free. Strix or Shannon on a test app you own.

You need tests to rerun as you ship. Read best continuous pentesting tools, which compares only that.

Sources

All sources checked 2026-09-26.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI pentesting tool in 2026?
It depends on the surface. For web apps and APIs, XBOW, RunSybil, Escape, Aikido, Equixly and Novee say they confirm findings by exploiting them, and Barrion checks every finding against the live app before it is reported. For internal networks and Active Directory, Horizon3.ai NodeZero or Pentera. For AI with human pentesters, Terra, Cobalt or Synack. For open source, Strix or Shannon.
Are there open-source AI pentesting tools?
Yes. Strix (Apache-2.0) and Shannon (AGPL-3.0) test web apps and APIs and say they report findings with a working proof of concept. Shannon reads your source code. PentestGPT (MIT) is a research project aimed at CTFs and pentests of an IP or URL. You run all three yourself with your own LLM key, and only against systems you're allowed to test.
Which AI pentesting tools also test internal networks?
Horizon3.ai NodeZero and Pentera are built for internal networks, Active Directory and cloud identity. Terra Security added internal and external network testing in May 2026. Cobalt's human pentesters also cover networks. Barrion doesn't test internal networks or Active Directory.
Do AI pentesting tools have human review?
Some do. Terra's certified pentesters approve intrusive actions and sign off findings, Cobalt Core pentesters are involved in every Autonomous Pentest, and the Synack Red Team confirms Sara's findings. At Barrion, a security engineer reviews findings from Standard level up. XBOW, RunSybil, Escape, Aikido and Equixly don't state human review of findings.
What's the difference between this list and the continuous pentesting tools list?
This page covers every kind of AI pentesting tool: web and API, network and Active Directory, human-plus-AI services and open-source frameworks. The continuous list compares only tools that retest your app on a schedule or as you ship, and goes deeper on regression tracking and triggers.
How much do AI pentesting tools cost?
Most don't publish prices. Public prices checked 2026-09-26 include $3,500 for Cobalt's Autonomous Pentest, $4,000 for Aikido's standard pentest, $4,181 for a Synack Sara pentest and €4,999 for an Equixly test. Barrion's Essential plan starts at €199/month. Open-source frameworks are free, but you pay for the LLM usage.
Why is Barrion listed first?
Because we make Barrion and wrote this page. We've said so at the top, held it to the same criteria as every other tool, and listed what it doesn't do: internal networks, Active Directory, mobile, physical and social engineering. Every claim about other tools links to a source checked 2026-09-26.

Test Barrion on your own app.

Start an AI pentest of your web app or API, or book a call and we'll scope scheduled testing with you.