Always-on AI pentesting for your web apps and APIsAlways-on AI pentestingStart an AI pentest
Penetration testing · Buyer's guide

Best Continuous Pentesting Tools in 2026

Short answer: For web apps and APIs, the tools that run pentest-style testing continuously are Barrion, Aikido, Escape, Equixly and XBOW. Cobalt, Synack and Terra add human testers, and Barrion adds a security engineer's review from Standard level up. Pentera and NodeZero cover internal networks and Active Directory instead. We compared 12 tools on eight criteria using each vendor's own site, checked 2026-09-26.

Most "best continuous pentesting tools" lists are written by one of the vendors on them, and the author's tool tends to come out on top. This one is written by a vendor too. The difference is that the criteria come first, every row answers the same questions, and every claim about another tool links to that tool's own site.

Barrion is our product. We've held it to the same criteria as every other tool.

What makes a continuous pentesting tool worth using?

Eight things. They're the same questions we suggest putting to any vendor in what is continuous pentesting, and they're the columns of the table below.

  1. Proof per finding. Does the tool send the request again against the live app and attach the request and response? A daily run of unconfirmed maybes is daily noise.
  2. Regression tracking across runs. Each finding should carry a status between runs, so you can see what's new, what's fixed and what came back. Two PDFs you diff by hand don't count.
  3. Web apps and APIs, including authenticated roles. Most serious bugs sit behind a login, and access-control flaws only show up when the tool tests as more than one user.
  4. Self-serve start. Can you set up a first run yourself, or is the only way in a demo call?
  5. Human review. Is there a person who checks reports before they go to an auditor or a customer, and will they sign the report?
  6. Retest after fixes. Once you've shipped a fix, can you rerun the finding to prove it's closed, and does that cost extra?
  7. States what it doesn't test. A vendor that says what's out of scope saves you from assuming coverage you don't have.
  8. Trigger options. On a schedule, when the app changes, and from your pipeline through an API. Check each one, and ask whether a change-triggered run tests the whole app or only the diff.

We left pricing out of the criteria because most vendors in this category don't publish it. Where a price is public, it's in the tool's section below.

This list only covers tools that retest your app on a schedule or as you ship. For every kind of AI pentesting tool, including network tools and open-source frameworks, see best AI pentesting tools. Weighing up XBOW? See XBOW alternatives.

How do the tools compare?

Ten tools test web apps and APIs. Pentera and NodeZero sit in a different category and get their own table.

Web app and API tools. Competitor cells come from each vendor's own site, checked 2026-09-26. Scroll sideways on small screens.
ToolProof per findingRegression trackingWeb + API, auth rolesSelf-serve startHuman reviewRetest after fixesStates what it doesn't testTriggersBest forWhat it doesn't do
BarrionYes. Every finding is checked against the live app. Confirmed ones carry the request and response that prove them. Anything unconfirmed is clearly markedYes. Each scheduled run labels findings new, still open, resolved or regressedWeb apps and APIs, with several test users in named rolesYesYes, security engineer review from Standard up, signed-off reports for deeper testsYes, free. A retest reuses the scope and stored credentials and holds no creditsYes, on the facts pageSchedule (every run, or only when the app has changed), CI/CD pipeline via the Barrion API, or on demandProduct teams shipping weekly or faster who want a full pentest rerun on their own rhythmNo internal network, AD, mobile, physical, social engineering or TLPT. Change detection misses backend-only releases
AikidoYes, per vendor. Separate agents re-exploit each finding and attach a proof of conceptRetest per issue. Run-to-run labels not statedWeb apps and APIs (REST, GraphQL, gRPC, SOAP) plus Android, with role-based access testingYes, free start with no cardNo reviewer stated. You approve escalations and fix PRsYes. The fixed-scope pentest includes retests of its findings for up to 6 monthsNot statedOn demand, or per deploy with Aikido Infinite (targets the diff)Teams already on Aikido's scanning suite who want a pentest per deploy with fix PRsPer-deploy runs target changed code and affected surfaces, not the whole app. No network testing stated
EscapeYes, per vendor. Working exploit with the request chain, screenshots and logsYes. Proven findings become per-build regression testsWeb apps, REST and GraphQL APIs, several users at once, OAuth, SSO and multi-tenantNo, demoNot statedYes. Proven findings are rerun as regression tests on every build. Price not statedNot statedContinuous, and on every push through CI/CDGraphQL-heavy and multi-tenant apps, plus attack surface managementNo public pricing or self-serve start. No human review stated
EquixlyYes, per vendor. Findings grounded in demonstrated exploitability, with request and response detailsNot statedAPI-first, also applications. Role testing not stated on the pages we checkedNo, contact salesNot statedSays it validates remediation as fixes are deployed. Price not statedNot statedContinuous on the platform plan, and from deployment pipelinesAPI-first companies with many services and cross-service flowsContinuous testing is on the custom-priced platform plan only. The €4,999 single test isn't continuous
XBOWYes, per vendor. Each finding comes with a working exploitFix retesting mentioned. Run-to-run labels not statedWeb apps and APIs. Authenticated testing not stated on the pages we checkedNo, demo or quote (also sold on cloud marketplaces)Not statedFix retesting mentioned in a customer quote. Price not statedNot statedContinuous and on demandLarge portfolios, from one app to thousands, on usage-based pricingNo public price. No human review stated
Invicti (agentic pentest)Yes, per vendor. Every finding proven exploitable with proof-based scanningNot stated for the agentic pentestWeb apps through Invicti's DAST crawl. APIs are covered by the DAST platformNo, demoNot statedNot statedNot statedOn demand, as often as you like. DAST can run in CI/CDInvicti DAST customers who want a cheap agentic pentest per runNo schedule or change trigger stated for the agentic pentest itself
IntruderNot stated for the AI pentestNot statedWhite-box web app pentest with repo access. Continuous authenticated DAST for web apps and APIsYes, 14-day platform trial. AI pentest bought per testNot statedUnlimited retesting, included with each AI pentestThe AI pentest covers web apps onlyAI pentest on demand or per release. Scanning runs continuouslyTeams that want infrastructure, cloud and web scanning plus a periodic AI pentest from one vendorThe continuous part is scanning. Pentests are priced per test ($3,500), so frequent runs add up
Terra SecurityVerified findings, reports signed by certified pentestersNot statedWeb apps, AI systems, external and internal networksNo, demoYes, human pentesters in the loop and on the reportNot statedNot statedAlways-on, aligned to code changeTeams that need audit-ready reports signed by people, across web and networkNo public pricing or self-serve start
CobaltAutonomous Pentest: proof of exploit per findingUnlimited retesting on credit contracts. Run-to-run labels not statedHuman-led: web, API, networks, cloud, AI and LLM. Autonomous Pentest: web appsNo, quote requiredYes. Cobalt Core pentesters (500+) lead or oversee every engagementFree, unlimited retesting for the contract termNot statedPer engagement or as a continuous program. Autonomous Pentest per testCompliance-driven teams that want human testers on a subscription, with AI runs in betweenSales-led. The Autonomous Pentest is priced per test ($3,500 offer)
SynackAI findings validated by human researchersNot statedWeb, API, host and cloud. Researchers also cover mobileNo, sales-led. Customers launch tests from the portalYes. Synack Red Team, 1,500+ researchersPatch verification included on every planNot statedContinuous (Synack14/365) or point in timeEnterprises and public sector that want a vetted crowd of human researchersSales-led. Prices start at $4,181 for one AI pentest and $27,120 for Synack14

"Not stated" means we couldn't find it on the vendor's site on 2026-09-26. It doesn't mean the tool can't do it. If you're a vendor and a cell is wrong, email contact@barrion.io with a link and we'll fix it.

The tools, one by one

1. Barrion

Barrion's AI agents run full pentests of web apps and APIs at five levels, from Light (400 credits, 3 agents) to Maximum (20,000 credits, 100 agents). Coverage spans 8 testing areas and all 97 OWASP WSTG v4.2 test cases.

You can put a pentest on a schedule: daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, every six months, yearly, or a custom rhythm. Each schedule has its own scope and depth, and you choose whether it runs every time or only when the app has changed. You can also trigger runs from your CI/CD pipeline via the Barrion API. Every run labels its findings new, still open, resolved or regressed.

Every finding is checked against your live app before it's reported. Confirmed findings come with the request and response that prove them. Anything we couldn't confirm is clearly marked and capped in severity. From Standard up, a security engineer reviews the findings. Deeper tests come with a report signed off by that engineer, which you can offer an auditor or an enterprise customer as your yearly test. Whether it counts is their call.

Once you've fixed something, retesting it is free. A retest reuses the original scope and stored credentials, checks each finding again and holds no credits.

Where others are stronger: we don't test internal networks, Active Directory, mobile apps, physical security or social engineering, and we don't do TLPT. Our change detection compares a snapshot of the start page's links and scripts, so a backend-only release can slip past it. Keep an every-time schedule on a slower rhythm too. Expert review is a check of the findings, not a human tester doing the work. For that, look at Cobalt, Synack or Terra.

You can start a single pentest self-serve. Scheduled pentests come with the Business plan, which you set up through sales. Continuous programs are scoped to your apps, cadence and depth, so talk to us and we'll price it for your setup. Single runs are priced on the pricing page.

2. Aikido

Aikido sells a developer security suite, and its AI pentest is one part of it. Aikido Infinite runs a pentest when new code lands, "analysing the diff and targeting changed code and affected surfaces", then proposes a patch and retests it. Aikido says separate agents re-exploit each finding to confirm it before you see it.

Stronger than Barrion at: testing Android apps, generating fix PRs, and a wider list of API protocols (REST, GraphQL, gRPC, SOAP). You can start free without a card.

Watch for: a diff-targeted run is cheaper per deploy but doesn't retest the rest of the app, so a regression somewhere the diff didn't touch needs a full run to catch. Public prices on 2026-09-26: $4,000 for a typical fixed-scope pentest, $10 per agent on Infinite (agents run for up to 30 minutes), and custom pricing for the Continuous tier.

3. Escape

Escape runs attack surface management, a business-logic-aware DAST and a multi-agent AI pentesting engine as one continuous program. It says it tests "as multiple users at once", handles OAuth, SSO and multi-tenant apps, and turns every proven finding into per-build regression coverage.

Stronger than Barrion at: GraphQL, attack surface discovery across external assets, and testing in the pipeline on every push.

Watch for: no public pricing and no self-serve start. Getting in means a demo.

4. Equixly

Equixly is built around APIs. Its agents test "APIs and applications" continuously, look for business-logic flaws and cross-service chains, and ground findings in demonstrated exploitability.

Stronger than Barrion at: API depth for teams whose product is mostly services talking to services.

Watch for: continuous testing is on the custom-priced platform plan. The public price, €4,999, buys a single penetration test with results in two days, which isn't continuous.

5. XBOW

XBOW's agents test web apps and APIs, chain issues into working exploits, and only report a finding with an exploit that proves it. It sells continuous and on-demand testing on usage-based pricing, including through AWS, Google Cloud, Oracle and Microsoft marketplaces.

Stronger than Barrion at: scale. It's built to go from one app to thousands.

Watch for: no public price, and the pages we checked don't mention human review or authenticated testing.

6. Invicti (agentic pentest)

Invicti added an agentic pentest ("Octo") on top of its DAST. Specialist agents target separate exploit classes, findings go through Invicti's proof-based validation, and a report arrives within 24 hours for at most $500 per assessment.

Stronger than Barrion at: a mature DAST engine underneath, and a full application security suite (SAST, SCA, IaC, secrets, containers) if you want one vendor.

Watch for: it's run on demand. We couldn't find a schedule or change trigger for the agentic pentest itself, and access is through a demo.

7. Intruder

Intruder is mainly a vulnerability scanning platform, covering infrastructure, cloud and web apps, with continuous DAST included. Its AI pentest is a same-day, white-box web application test at $3,500 per test, or $12,000 for four.

Stronger than Barrion at: infrastructure and cloud coverage in the same product, and a 14-day free trial of the platform.

Watch for: the continuous part is scanning, which flags rather than exploits. The pentest is priced per test, so testing every release adds up fast.

8. Terra Security

Terra pairs swarms of AI agents with human pentesters and describes its testing as "always-on" and "aligned to code change". Since May 2026 it covers internal and external networks as well as web apps and AI systems.

Stronger than Barrion at: human pentesters in the loop, reports signed by certified pentesters, and network coverage.

Watch for: no public pricing and no self-serve start.

9. Cobalt

Cobalt is the best-known PTaaS: a platform plus a bench of 500+ vetted pentesters (Cobalt Core) across web, API, network, cloud and AI targets. It has since added Autonomous Pentest, an AI-run web app test with findings in 24 hours, proof of exploit, and a Cobalt Core pentester directing every engagement. It's offered at $3,500 per test.

Stronger than Barrion at: human testers, breadth of asset types, and reports built for compliance. Credit contracts include unlimited retesting.

Watch for: everything goes through a quote, and the AI test is priced per test rather than as a schedule.

10. Synack

Synack combines an AI agent (Sara) with the Synack Red Team, 1,500+ vetted researchers. Public starting prices: $4,181 for one Sara AI pentest, $10,283 for a standard human pentest, and $27,120 for Synack14, part of its continuous Synack14/365 offer.

Stronger than Barrion at: a large human researcher network, mobile and host testing, and a track record with enterprise and public-sector buyers.

Watch for: it's sales-led and the entry price is high for a small team.

Network and Active Directory tools

Pentera and NodeZero run continuous, automated pentests too, but of a different surface. They go after internal networks, Active Directory and cloud identities. If that's what your auditor or your risk register is asking about, a web app tool (ours included) won't answer it.

ToolWhat it testsTriggersSelf-serve startStronger than Barrion atWhat it doesn't do
PenteraInternal and external networks, Active Directory, cloud and hybrid identityScheduled, production-safe runsNo, demoInternal network and AD, where we don't test at allIts site centres on network, AD and cloud identity, not web app logic. No public pricing
Horizon3.ai NodeZeroInternal, external, AD password audit, cloud, Kubernetes, web appsSchedule, up to dailyYes, free trialInternal network, AD and attack-path chaining with proof of exploitNot stated for multi-role web app and API testing. No public pricing

Many teams run one of these for the network and a web app tool for the product. They don't overlap much.

What about DAST tools like StackHawk?

We left StackHawk out of the table because it isn't a pentest tool. It's a DAST that runs inside the coding loop, including with AI coding agents like Claude Code and Cursor, and tests the running app before a pull request is opened. It's good at that job, starts at $10 per user per month with a 14-day trial, and pairs well with a continuous pentest on the deployed app. The difference is explained in pentest vs vulnerability scan.

How often should you test your app?

Daily for the app surface, if you ship often, with the annual pentest that compliance asks for on top.

The evidence for testing more often is about how fast known bugs get used:

  • Mandiant's M-Trends 2026 (published 2026-03-23) puts the mean time to exploit at an estimated minus 7 days, meaning exploitation routinely starts before a patch exists. Exploits were the most common way in for the sixth year running, at 32% of intrusions.
  • VulnCheck's State of Exploitation 1H-2026 (published 2026-07-28) found that 23.43% of the 495 vulnerabilities added to its known-exploited list in the first half of 2026 were exploited on or before the day their CVE was published.
  • Google's Threat Intelligence Group reported on 2026-05-11 that attackers now use AI models as "expert-level force multipliers" for vulnerability research and exploit development. It also found the first zero-day it believes was developed with AI, a 2FA bypass rooted in the app's own logic.

The same VulnCheck report found AI-discovered vulnerabilities weren't exploited more often than others (14 of 1,061, or 1.3%). So this isn't about AI. The window between a flaw going live and someone using it was already short.

Those figures are about published CVEs. A bug in your own code never gets one, so nobody warns you. You only know it's there if you test after the release that introduced it. That's our inference from the data, not a figure from these reports.

A setup we'd suggest for a SaaS team: a Light run every day that only fires when the app has changed, a Deep run every month that always runs, and a human pentest once a year for the paths that need judgement and for auditors who ask for one.

How to choose

You're a SaaS team shipping daily. You want a full rerun on a schedule, a change trigger and run-over-run labels so regressions stand out. Barrion and Escape fit. Aikido fits if you want the run tied to each deploy and you're happy with diff-targeted runs.

Your product is mostly APIs. Look at Equixly first, then Escape if you use GraphQL. Check that the tool tests as several users, because broken object-level authorization is the classic API bug and it needs two accounts to find.

You need internal network or Active Directory coverage. Pentera or NodeZero, next to a web app tool. Terra also covers internal networks now, with humans in the loop.

You need reports for auditors or enterprise customers. Cobalt or Synack for a PTaaS contract with a named, formally scoped test, or Terra for AI plus human sign-off. Barrion's deeper tests come with a report signed off by a security engineer, which you can offer as your yearly test (whether it counts is your auditor's call), and from Standard up an engineer reviews every set of findings. Run a continuous tool between those tests so the months after the report aren't blind. The trade-offs are laid out in PTaaS vs continuous AI pentesting.

You want to try before talking to sales. Barrion, Aikido and Intruder let you start yourself. NodeZero does too for network testing.

Sources

All sources checked 2026-09-26.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What is the best continuous pentesting tool in 2026?
It depends on what you need tested. For web apps and APIs with a self-serve start, pick Barrion for full reruns with regression labels, or Aikido for a diff-targeted pentest on every deploy. Escape and Equixly are strong on business logic and APIs. For human testers, Cobalt, Synack and Terra. For internal networks and Active Directory, Pentera or NodeZero.
Which continuous pentesting tools prove their findings?
On their own sites, Aikido, Escape, Equixly, XBOW, Invicti and Cobalt's Autonomous Pentest all say findings are confirmed by exploitation before they're reported. Barrion checks every finding against your live app before it's reported. Confirmed findings come with the request and response that prove them, and anything we couldn't confirm is clearly marked and capped in severity. Ask any vendor for a sample report and check that each finding shows the request sent and the response that came back.
Is continuous pentesting the same as continuous DAST?
No. A DAST scanner matches known patterns and flags likely issues. A pentest tries to exploit the app and reports what it could confirm. Some vendors sell both, so ask which one runs on the schedule you're paying for.
How often should you pentest a web app?
Daily for the app surface if you ship often, plus a deeper run monthly and a human test yearly. Mandiant's M-Trends 2026 puts the mean time to exploit at an estimated -7 days, and VulnCheck found 23.43% of known-exploited vulnerabilities in the first half of 2026 were exploited on or before disclosure day.
Can a continuous pentesting tool replace a human pentest for compliance?
Usually not on its own. PCI DSS asks for penetration testing at least every 12 months and after significant changes, including internal network testing, and many auditors and customers expect a formally scoped human test. Continuous tools cover the months in between and catch regressions. Your assessor decides what counts.
Why is Barrion listed first on this page?
Because we make Barrion and wrote this page. We've listed it first and been explicit about what it doesn't do, including internal networks, Active Directory and mobile apps. Every claim about the other tools links to the vendor's own site, checked 2026-09-26, so you can verify it.
How much do continuous pentesting tools cost?
Most vendors don't publish a continuous price. Public per-test prices checked 2026-09-26 include up to $500 for Invicti's agentic pentest, $3,500 for Cobalt's Autonomous Pentest and Intruder's AI pentest, $4,181 for a Synack Sara pentest and €4,999 for an Equixly test. Barrion's continuous programs are scoped with sales.

Put your apps on continuous AI pentesting.

Tell us about your apps and we'll scope a continuous program with you. Or start a single AI pentest today.